Rest.

Rest.

/rest/

Refresh oneself; recover strength.

Lord why can’t GRIEF take a holiday!? As I sat and reflected this morning, I thought to myself, “wow, it’s already thanksgiving again!? This year went by incredibly fast.” And I thought of all the families that gathered around the table for thanksgiving dinner last year, that said their prayers of thanks, and that ate and laughed and fellowshipped with one another. Then I reflected on all of the tragic events that transpired throughout the year. And I saw in my mind so many families gathering around empty seats at their tables this year. Gathering around only pictures and memories of those lost. Then I started thinking about loss in general. Whether you lost a family member to sickness, a sudden tragic event, a soldier/ fire fighter/ police family member killed in action, suicide, old age- no matter how they left, they are still solemnly departed. And my heart fell heavy. Grief is never easy and it doesn’t look the same for everyone, but if I can encourage you today then I urge you to not avoid your feelings of grief. Face what you’re feeling and cry if you have to. The only thing worse than expressing your emotion, is bottling it up. Cry. Scream. Kick (please don’t kick a person or an animal though). Feel what you’re feeling, then release it. You may have grief, but don’t let grief have you. Throw that burden at the feet of Jesus. And once you’ve cried and prayed, and laid your grief at His feet, get up. Wash your face. Embrace your loved ones that are still here. Hug them tight. Kiss them. Tell them you love them. Find your rest today.

I love you, I’m thinking of you, and as always I’m praying for you. ♥️🌞

– The Praying Millennial.

“Come to me, all you who are weary and burdened, and I will give you rest. Take my yoke upon you and learn from me, for I am gentle and humble in heart, and you will find rest for your souls. For my yoke is easy and my burden is light.”

‭‭Matthew‬ ‭11:28-30‬ ‭NIV‬‬

Leave a comment