A Prayer for Obedience

In a recent devotion time, the Holy Spirit told me that “the end of obedience is reward” and it couldn’t have been more perfectly timed because I feel like I’m in a season where God is testing and measuring my level of obedience to Him. He is stretching me to a place of discomfort and causing me to wander into uncharted territory using only faith in Him as a guide. And to be honest… it’s been so liberating! and refreshing. There’s such a newness about it and I love it. A wise man by the name of Bishop Nate Holcomb said “the level of a man’s maturity is his ability to hear from God, step out by faith, and obey what He says.” I’ve noticed that when I am truly obeying God with a willing heart, I find joy and peace in whatever He’s called me to do. And when I’m not obedient, things never work out right. So moving forward, I’m making a conscious effort to be obedient- when I feel like it and when I don’t. Because after all, you never know who can benefit from your “yes” to God. So what is God telling you to be obedient about? Pray with me…

Dear Lord,

Thank You for Your Word. You said obedience is better than sacrifice and at the end of obedience is a reward, so God I ask that You continue to give me a heart to obey. Lord I’m reminded of when You instructed Abraham to get up and move into a country You would show him. With no map or guide, You led him. And in his obedience, You blessed him and called him friend. I’m reminded of Moses when You sent him to deliver the children of Israel out of the onerous hand of Pharaoh. Because of his obedience, You spoke with him face to face and through him performed miracles, signs, and wonders in Egypt and in the wilderness. Lord I’m reminded of David; how greatly he feared You and You called him the man after Your own heart. And even after he sinned, disobeyed, then repented,  You forgave him and continued to use him mightily. You even continued to honor him in death. Lord I’m reminded of Job, during his trial season. How when he prayed and repented unto You, then prayed for his friends, You delivered them and gave Job double of what he lost. Lord I remember Your servant Noah, in his obedience he looked foolish to men- but his end was a new life and heritage. I remember Gideon, when you commanded that he go to battle with only 300 Israelite men to fight against the Midianites (whose soldiers were as the sand of the sea in numbers)- and Gideon triumphed over them. LORD HELP ME TO BE OBEDIENT. The end is a reward indeed!

And finally, I’m reminded of You, Jesus, in the garden of Gethsemane. When You had come to the end of Your human strength and pleaded that Your cup be passed, You still pressed on in faith to say, ‘nevertheless, Thy will be done.’ And in Your obedience [even unto death], You became the most Worthy Lamb. The Lion that reigns. The Lord that saves. The Rebuilder of the Bridge to God (even though we burned the bridge through disobedience). You became the Restorer of our broken relationship to the Father. You became The One whose stripes heal our bodies daily, whose bruises have covered our iniquities, and whose wounds have taken the place of our transgressions. In Your obedience, You have received the unfading Crown of Glory and You are seated on the Highest Throne forever. JESUS, THANK YOU FOR SHOWING US THE END OF OBEDIENCE, which is reward and V I C T O R Y.

Jesus. Help me to be obedient –  to Your voice, Your instruction, and Your will for my life. In the mighty and matchless name of Jesus Christ I pray…

But Samuel replied [to King Saul]: ‘Does the Lord delight in burnt offerings and sacrifices as much as in obeying the Lord? To obey is better than sacrifice, and to heed is better than the fat of rams. For rebellion is like the sin of divination, and arrogance like the evil of idolatry. Because you have rejected the word of the Lord, he has rejected you as king.'”

‭‭1 Samuel‬ ‭15:22-23‬ ‭NIV‬‬

“Obedience is better than sacrifice, and discipline better than deliverance…”

Genesis 6:13-14, 12:1-4
Exodus 3:10
1 Samuel 13:14, Acts 13:22
Job 42:10
Judges 7:7
Matthew 26:36-45, Revelation 5:5, 12

Leave a comment